Python MOOC – Week 1

2013-06-23 07_43_22-The Mechanical MOOC – A Gentle Introduction to Python _ Free range open learning

So, a new (the fourth, as far as I understand) sequence of Python Mechanical MOOC officially started a week ago. This week happened to be extremely busy in my case, so I actually had less time for learning than I hoped I would. But thanks to the Codecademy lessons I took some time ago, the first bunch of tasks didn’t contain too much new information for me. But at the same time it contained quite a number of fascinating and revealing details. For one, I found out from this video lecture that some languages allow using false indentation. That is, unlike Python where indentation is the only way to make a script work properly, many other languages use punctuation to separate statements. But indentation is still required by convention to make a programme clearly readable and its semantics more obvious from its structure. So to make people think that the programme does something different from what it really does, some coders may use this false indentation e.g. in Java or C. But not in Python however.

Also, as I think that during these 8 weeks’ period Python is supposed to be my primary learning focus, I decided to take into account some additional Python courses that might provide a better understanding of what’s going on. One of them is Python Programming 101 at P2PU. And actually there’s a lot of additional information there. For instance, there’s a list of Python compatible text editors. What I like best about it is peer reviews of the editors they tried. So I’ll have to save this for the future:

But for now I’m using IDLE, because I don’t have enough time to try all of them right now. Although I’ve installed Notepad ++ just in case.

Also I’m looking forward to getting involved in OpenStudy communication, but I haven’t yet, because I’ve been a bit overloaded (like a + operator) with work.

Leave a Reply

