Preparing the first presentation in my life

This is supposed to be a complaining post. But I’ll also try to make it somehow useful at least due to the links to helpful resources I find on the way. Now, to the point. As I have already mentioned (more than once, I think), I hate visual stuff. And presentations today are all based on slides, so I’ve got to not only think about the structure and opening and closing and hooks for the audience, but also about making some decent background for my presentation.

So, learning again.

A couple of words about the circumstances. I’ve got to prepare this presentation for a conference on social computing that takes place in Moscow this Friday (on 21 June) and my topic is data journalism. Although I’ve got, say, 3 days ahead, I’m very short of time, because during these days I’ll also have to work and learn etc. So my most immediate target is to make at least a draft presentation to have some back-up in case I’m overwhelmed by work during the week.

So, first thing I did, I went web-hunting to find some tips on what to do. And here’s what I’ve found instructive so far.

Now, in order to start the process, I decided to create some structure. And in order to do this, in turn, I first put down some information blocks in order to later arrange them more logically.

Here’s what I’ve got in the end:

data_journalism_copy_small

Feel free to see this monster full-size.

And I was actually testing this palette by GlueStudio (which I downloaded from ColourLovers I mentioned above).

2013-06-18 03_02_33-COLOURlovers.com - Terra_

OK, next I’ll have to fit all this into like 5 slides (I’ve got no more than 12 minutes for my presentation).

3 thoughts on “Preparing the first presentation in my life

Leave a Reply

